Photo of the Day: Cook Islands

Taken April 19, 2007

For Zee (and SFC!), who just recently commented that I oughta post something about sailing the Pacific or Caribbean Islands.  I wasn’t sailing when I took this picture but as close as I could accommodate! (And fyi I still think your plans for sailing sound awesome and I’d love to join if there’s room *wink*)

I was lucky enough to visit the Cook Islands during my semester abroad in New Zealand as part of my program, which I wrote a bit about here.  I’ve never been to Hawaii but it’s roughly the same latitude south from the equator as Hawaii is North, and is what I hear Hawaii was like 50 years ago… Fascinating culture, and this mural was near their branch of the University of the South Pacific where we went to listen to a few lectures to make our trip seem legit- such a beautiful piece of artwork for such a remote place.

One response to “Photo of the Day: Cook Islands

  1. You’re welcome on board anytime you want. Of course we need to get the boat either built or bought yet but when we do it party time!

Leave a comment